Asia Cup 2022 Qualifier: UAE Beats Singapore by 47 Runs


With a narrow loss to Kuwait at Al Amerat in Oman on Sunday, the UAE’s Asia Cup qualification campaign got off to a bad start. The UAE appeared to be winning their opening game after scoring 173 for 5 in their 20 overs while their GCC rivals were struggling at 110 for 6 in the 14th over. Kuwaitis, though, maintained their composure in the decision over to triumph by one wicket and one ball.

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) squad won by a score of 47 runs against Singapore on Monday, August 22, 2022, after losing the match against Kuwait. When they batted first, UAE amassed 160/8 in 20 overs. In 18.3 overs, Singapore was dismissed for 113 runs. Muhammad Waseem from UAE scored a half-century and helped their team to set a good target for their opponents. The other batsmen failed to score high runs and only Basil Hameed (38) was able to score decent runs.

Read moreYasir Shah advises the Pakistani side not to underestimate Virat Kohli

The second innings

Singapore’s innings had a great start where Aritra Dutta scored 42 runs in just 29 balls with a strike rate of 144.83. He smashed four sixes and a boundary. But this was not enough, as he needed support from his teammates and nobody was able to have a good partnership with him. Apart from him, other players were not even able to make more than 20 runs and that is what took the game away from them. 

UAE’s bowling did a great job, especially Junaid Siddique and Karthik Meiyappan who took three wickets each. Junaid Siddique bowled three overs and gave 14 runs and Karthik Meiyappan completed his spell by giving just 13 runs.

The main stage, which starts in the UAE on August 27, will include the winner of the qualification stage in addition to Full Members Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.

Read more: Asia cup schedule

Singapore Squad: 

Rohan Rangarajan, Aritra Dutta, Rezza Gaznavi, Janak Prakash, Manpreet Singh(w), Avi Dixit, Surendran Chandramohan, Aryaman Sunil, Amjad Mahboob(c), Vinoth Baskaran, Akshay Puri, Neil Karnik, Navin Param, Arjun Mutreja, Anantha Krishna, Aman Desai

United Arab Emirates Squad: 

Muhammad Waseem, Chirag Suri, Vriitya Aravind(w), Zawar Farid, Basil Hameed, Kashif Daud, Chundangapoyil Rizwan(c), Rohan Mustafa, Zahoor Khan, Ahmed Raza, Junaid Siddique, Sabir Ali, Karthik Meiyappan, Alishan Sharafu, Aryan Lakra, Fahad Nawaz, Sultan Ahmed


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

French Football Federation President Resigns Amid Controversy Surrounding Comments on Zidane

Noël Le Graët has resigned from his position as...

Gareth Bale Announces his Retirement from Club and International Football

On 9 January 2023, Wales soccer legend Gareth Bale...

Ronaldo clashes with Messi in Al-Nassr vs PSG friendly match

Paris Saint-Germain (PSG) has announced that they will be...

Tension between BCCI and Star Sports regarding South Africa series, know what is the whole matter

An emergency meeting of the BCCI was held on...