Women’s Asia Cup to be held in Sylhet, Bangladesh


Seven countries will compete in the Women’s Asia Cup 2022 T20 competition at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium in Bangladesh from October 1 to 16. The Asian Cricket Council (ACC) has yet to formally publish the tournament’s dates.

The competition will begin following the conclusion of the 2022 Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier in the UAE in the final week of September. The first two weeks of October were designated for this year’s Women’s Asia Cup in the ICC’s first-ever Women’s Future Tours Programme, which was unveiled last week.

Read more: Asia Cup 2022 Qualifier: UAE Beats Singapore

Women’s Asia Cup teams

India – the biggest winner in the competition’s history – Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Malaysia, and UAE will be participating, along with the hosts. These nations will arrive in Bangladesh on September 27 and 28. Bangladesh has not hosted any women’s international matches since Pakistan’s visit to the nation in October 2018. The 2022 Asia Cup will also mark Sylhet’s first hosting of any international women’s matches since the 2014 T20 World Cup.

Officials stated that discussions between the BCB and the ICC to hold the knockout rounds of the world event at the Sylhet International Stadium are solidifying in light of Bangladesh’s recent selection by the ICC as the hosts of the 2024 Women’s T20 World Cup.

The Women’s Asia Cup, which has been contested in the T20 format since 2012, is typically held every two years, however, it was recently held in 2018 when underdog Bangladesh defeated six-time champion India in a nail-biting final ball match to claim their first major trophy. Originally slated to take place in Bangladesh in 2020 but later moved to 2021, the 2020 edition was ultimately canceled.

UAE and Malaysia secured their spots

After competing in the final of the 10-team ACC Women’s T20 Championship in June, UAE and Malaysia secured their spots among the seven teams scheduled to compete through the qualifying process. UAE, the competition’s unbeaten and eventual champions, defeated Malaysia by five wickets in the final.

Read more: Asia cup schedule


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

French Football Federation President Resigns Amid Controversy Surrounding Comments on Zidane

Noël Le Graët has resigned from his position as...

Gareth Bale Announces his Retirement from Club and International Football

On 9 January 2023, Wales soccer legend Gareth Bale...

Ronaldo clashes with Messi in Al-Nassr vs PSG friendly match

Paris Saint-Germain (PSG) has announced that they will be...

Tension between BCCI and Star Sports regarding South Africa series, know what is the whole matter

An emergency meeting of the BCCI was held on...