Most 6s By A Player In Asia Cup History


The Asia Cup 2022 is all set to kick-off on August 27 with Sri Lanka taking on Afghanistan in the opener followed by cricket’s greatest rivalry – India versus Pakistan – on August 28. Over the years, the Asia Cup has created fond memories for cricket lovers around the world, with some of the most intense results and experiences on and off the screen.

Read More: Deepak Hooda Sets World Record!

The whole concept of the Asia Cup was coined in 1983 following the formation of the Asian Cricket Council (ACC). In 1984, the inaugural edition of the Asia Cup was introduced much to the excitement of fans and the cricket world. The tournament has played witness to some of the most thrilling finishes in world cricket.

Indian Players With Most 6s In Asia Cup History

The Asia Cup 2022 cricket extravaganza will be played in a T20I format unlike in Asia Cup 2018 which was an ODI event. The change in format this year means fans can expect some explosive cricket in the shortest format of the game.

Asia’s biggest names will be looking to smash the ball out of the park as much as possible and with players like Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, Babar Azam, Mohammed Rizwan, Shakib Al Hasan, Mohammad Nabi and Sri Lanka’s Dasun Shanaka ready to pad up and take stand at the crease, we can expect to see them take Asia’s finest bowlers to task during the course of the tournament.

Read More: Ace Pakistani Pacer Out Of Asia Cup

As a matter of fact, a lot of results will depend on which teams can hit the highest number of sixes per innings and maintain a massive run rate. For cricket fans, here’s a list of the Top 10 Indian players with the most 6s in Asia Cup history:

Rohit Sharma27265883111*42.0498190.0121
Suresh Raina18164586116*48.83523112.0418
Mahendra Singh Dhoni242010690109*69.0075491.5116
Saurav Ganguly13122518135*51.8070074.0013
Virender Sehwag1313050911939.15447113.8712
Yuvraj Singh161444015040.1043492.3911
Md Azharuddin1813546890*58.5056383.129
Shikhar Dhawan1313161312751.0865593.589
Sachin Tendulkar2321297111451.10113685.478
Ambati Rayudu10932606043.3331881.767

Memorable Events

Cricket enthusiasts will remember certain results such as Javed Miandad’s last ball six off Chetan Sharma in 1986, Virat Kohli’s magnificent 183 against Pakistan in 2012, Shahid Afridi’s smashing sixes for Pakistan against India in 2014 and Bangladesh ruining Sachin Tendulkar’s celebration of his 100th century in 2012.

Read More: Asia Cup 2022 Time Table

These are just some of the most memorable events that have taken place during the Asia Cup. However, all focus is now on the Asia Cup 2022 cricket tournament where defending champions India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan along with a yet to be announced team all set to battle it out for pride, honour and glory.

The Asia Cup was initially played in Sharjah between only three teams including India, Sri Lanka and Pakistan in 1984. India were victors in that tournament after winning both their matches. Sri Lanka hosted the second edition in 1986 but India pulled out of the Asia Cup event following strained cricketing relations with the island neighbours. Bangladesh made their debut in that edition of the Asia Cup. Sri Lanka beat Pakistan in the final to win the tournament.

Read More: Highest Strike Rates In Asia Cup History

Asia Cup 2022 Cricket Host

The Asia Cup 2022 cricket host is Sri Lanka although all matches will be played in the United Arab Emirates – Dubai and Sharjah – due to the political and economic instability in the island country. The Asia Cup 2022 is being played after a gap of four years owing to the spread of the COVID-19 pandemic across the globe. As a result, the 2022 cricket Asia Cup was postponed several times. Despite the Asia Cup 2022 cricket tournament not being played in Sri Lanka, the country was allowed hosting rights to the event.

Asia Cup 2022 Cricket Teams

The Asia Cup 2022 cricket team list has been announced although there is one team remaining to fill in the last spot in Group A which comprise of India and Pakistan. In Group B, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan and Bangladesh will be competing against each other.

Read More: Top 5 Highest Team Scores In Asia Cup

This time around in Asia Cup cricket 2022, the yet to be determined team will be either UAE, Kuwait, Singapore or Hong Kong, all of whom are competing in the qualifiers to earn that one spot spot in Group A.

Experts have pitted India as firm favourites to win the Asia Cup 2022 although Pakistan, with it’s current form and formidable lineup, have also been declared as the other favourites who might go on to win this year’s event.

Read More: Players With Most Number Of Centuries In Asia Cup

Asia Cup Cricket 2022 Schedule

The Asia Cup 2022 cricket schedule was also announced with all matches to be played in Dubai and Sharjah from August 27 to September 11. The 15th edition of the tournament is scheduled to be held in a Round-robin and knockout format which could also see some upsets being pulled off. For those unsure of the complete, corrected cricket Asia Cup 2022 schedule, you can find the details below.

Group A:

India v Pakistan: 28 August, Dubai
India v Qualifier: 31 August, Dubai
Pakistan v Qualifier: 2 September, Sharjah

Group B:

Sri Lanka v Afghanistan: 27 August, Dubai
Bangladesh v Afghanistan, 30 August, Sharjah
Sri Lanka v Bangladesh, 1 September, Dubai

Super 4:

B1 v B2: 3 September, Sharjah
A1 v A2: 4 September, Dubai
A1 v B1: 6 September, Dubai
A2 v B2: 7 September, Dubai
A1 v B2: 8 September, Dubai
B1 v A2: 9 September, Dubai

Final: 11 September, Dubai

Read More: Highest Asia Cup individual Scores

As the countdown begins, keep your eyes peeled for the biggest hitters this Asia Cup 2022. Considering the size of the grounds in the UAE and on basis of past batters’ records, it won’t come as much of a surprise to fans if it starts raining sixes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

French Football Federation President Resigns Amid Controversy Surrounding Comments on Zidane

Noël Le Graët has resigned from his position as...

Gareth Bale Announces his Retirement from Club and International Football

On 9 January 2023, Wales soccer legend Gareth Bale...

Ronaldo clashes with Messi in Al-Nassr vs PSG friendly match

Paris Saint-Germain (PSG) has announced that they will be...

Tension between BCCI and Star Sports regarding South Africa series, know what is the whole matter

An emergency meeting of the BCCI was held on...