Best Captains In Asia Cup


Over the decades, Asia Cup cricket has provided some of the most exciting battles between Asian cricketing rivals and along with that, the best captains in the continent. Introduced in 1983 with the first Asia Cup cricket tournament taking place the following year, the event is played either in One Day Internationals (ODIs) or in a Twenty20 International (T20I) format depending on which format is being played in the World Cup that same year.

Read More: Asia Cup 2022 – All You Need To Know

Asia Cup cricket is played every two years and it is also the only recognised continental cricket championship in the world. India had boycotted the Asia Cup in 1986 while Pakistan did the same in the 1990-91 tournament.

India is the most successful country in the Asia Cup with seven titles followed by Sri Lanka (5) and Pakistan (2).

Read More: Asia Cup 2022 Teams & India’s Player List

Most Successful Captains In Asia Cup

Aside from competing for honour and glory for their respective countries, the captains of the respective Asia Cup cricket teams have also utilised their opportunities in the tournament to stamp their authority as rock solid captains. Here’s a look at the most successful captains in the Asia Cup.

MS Dhoni (INDIA)2008-2018191441076.31
A Ranatunga (SL)1988-199713940069.23
Mashrafe Mortaza (BAN)2016-201811650054.54
Mahela Jayawardene (SL)2004-201210640060.00
Misbah-ul-Haq (PAK)2008-201410730070.00
Sourav Ganguly (INDIA)2000-20049450044.44
Angelo Mathews (SL)2014-20189540055.55
Asghar Stanikzai (AFG)2016-20188431056.25
Mushfiqur Rahim (BAN)2012-20148260025.00
Amjad Javed (UAE)2016-20167340042.85

Read More: List of Asia Cup winners

Cricket Asia Cup 2022 Schedule

The cricket Asia Cup 2022 schedule was recently announced after Sri Lanka pulled out as hosts owing to the current political and economic crisis in the island country. The Asia Cup 2022 cricket team list includes India, Pakistan and a yet to be decided team in Group A while Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka comprise Group B.

Below is the complete cricket Asia Cup 2022 schedule:

Group A:

India v Pakistan: 28 August, Dubai
India v Qualifier: 31 August, Dubai
Pakistan v Qualifier: 2 September, Sharjah

Group B:

Sri Lanka v Afghanistan: 27 August, Dubai
Bangladesh v Afghanistan, 30 August, Sharjah
Sri Lanka v Bangladesh, 1 September, Dubai

Super 4:

B1 v B2: 3 September, Sharjah
A1 v A2: 4 September, Dubai
A1 v B1: 6 September, Dubai
A2 v B2: 7 September, Dubai
A1 v B2: 8 September, Dubai
B1 v A2: 9 September, Dubai

Final: 11 September, Dubai

Read More: Lowest scores in Asia cup history


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here