List of Asia Cup winners


First established in 1983 after the Asian Cricket Council was founded and also the same year India won the ODI World Cup, the Asia Cup was introduced as a means of promoting friendship and goodwill between the Asian cricketing countries. The initial idea behind the tournament was to conduct an ODI event every two years but with the introduction of T20 cricket, the Asia Cup is now held every two years alternating between One Day Internationals and Twenty20 cricket.

Read More: Lowest scores in Asia cup history

When the inaugural Asia Cup 1984 tournament was launched, India finished first followed by Sri Lanka in second and Pakistan in third. Five teams including India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan have already competed in the Asia Cup while Hong Kong, Kuwait, Nepal, Oman, Singapore and the United Arab Emirates have been a part of the qualifiers.

India is the most successful team in Asia Cup history, winning the title 7 times and finishing runners-up thrice. Sri Lanka have claimed the coveted trophy five times while Pakistan have bagged it twice.

Read More: Best batting figures in Asia Cup

With the Asia Cup 2022 cricket tournament just around the corner, cricket fans are abuzz with excitement to watch some of the biggest cricketing names battle it out for honour and glory. Come August 28, Indian and Pakistani fans are expected to be treated to yet another blockbuster of a match as the two countries kick-off the Asia Cup 2022.

Here’s a list of the Asia Cup winners from the 1984 inaugural edition until date:
YearsWinner NameRunner-up NameHost Country
1984IndiaSri LankaUAE
1986Sri LankaPakistanSri Lanka
1988IndiaSri LankaBangladesh
1990/91IndiaSri LankaBangladesh
1995IndiaSri LankaUAE
1997Sri LankaIndiaSri Lanka
2000PakistanSri LankaBangladesh
2004Sri LankaIndiaSri Lanka
2008Sri LankaIndiaPakistan
2010IndiaSri LankaSri Lanka
2014Sri LankaPakistanBangladesh

Read More: Where to watch Asia Cup live scores

Following is the cricket Asia Cup 2022 schedule:

Group A:

India v Pakistan: 28 August, Dubai
India v Qualifier: 31 August, Dubai
Pakistan v Qualifier: 2 September, Sharjah

Group B:

Sri Lanka v Afghanistan: 27 August, Dubai
Bangladesh v Afghanistan, 30 August, Sharjah
Sri Lanka v Bangladesh, 1 September, Dubai

Super 4:

B1 v B2: 3 September, Sharjah
A1 v A2: 4 September, Dubai
A1 v B1: 6 September, Dubai
A2 v B2: 7 September, Dubai
A1 v B2: 8 September, Dubai
B1 v A2: 9 September, Dubai

Read More: Highest runs in Asia Cup history

Final: 11 September, Dubai

All Asia Cup 2022 matches will begin at 7:30 pm IST, with ten games to be played in Dubai and another three in Sharjah.


  1. A lot of entertainment. Be sure tօ login tο forr saving yоur work!

    It’s аlways challenging. Montһs later, stll fun. New
    games quite oftеn. Fantastic graphics, ɑnd even more adventures!
    Stiⅼl havibg amusement. Unique games. Ι lіke how new games and new features аre released often. Ӏt’s amazing to me tһаt theу remаin innovative
    ɑnd enjoyable.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here