Australia beat New Zealand by 113 runs


Australia establishes an unbeatable lead of 2-0 in their three-match ODI series. With yet another outstanding bowling performance, they have achieved it. I must agree that the Australians’ bowling effort in this game ranks right up there with the best bowling displays we have seen recently.

New Zealand has been waiting 13 years for that ODI victory against Australia in Australia, and now that they have fallen to another defeat here, they will have to keep waiting.

The happier team going into the second half would have been New Zealand. To say the least, it was surprising how they felt about the pursuit. Martin Guptill left the team early, and Conway and Tom Latham also ran out of steam. Captain Kane Williamson absolutely shut down after losing three wickets. At the opposite end, Daryl Mitchell struggled to get going as well. Kane Williamson left the field with a score of 17 from 58 balls, 47 of which were dot balls, after chewing up many deliveries.

Read moreAsif Ali shows the bat to hit Fareed Ahmad

After he left, Daryl Mitchell was also unable to stay in the game for very long, and they continued to lose wickets at regular intervals before falling short by 113 runs in this 196-run chase. The Kiwis’ issue was the lack of confidence they showed after losing three early wickets; they are unquestionably a superior batting unit than they were in this match. Let’s hope they recover more powerfully.

In the second ODI of the three-match series, Adam Zampa returned with five wickets as Australia successfully defended 195 and defeated New Zealand by 113 runs. Australia now has a commanding 2-0 series lead after this victory. When Australia’s top order collapsed, Trent Boult and Matt Henry both took four wickets for New Zealand, limiting Australia to 195-9. For the visitors, Steve Smith top-scored with 61 runs, while Mitchell Starc added 38 runs, but skipper Aaron Finch was out for a duck as his disastrous run of form continued.

Australia vs New Zealand Team

Australia: Aaron Finch (capt), David Warner, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Alex Carey, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Sean Abbott, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson (capt), Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Michael Bracewell, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Tim Southee, Trent Boult

WatchRohit Sharma turns his back on Arshdeep Singh


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

French Football Federation President Resigns Amid Controversy Surrounding Comments on Zidane

Noël Le Graët has resigned from his position as...

Gareth Bale Announces his Retirement from Club and International Football

On 9 January 2023, Wales soccer legend Gareth Bale...

Ronaldo clashes with Messi in Al-Nassr vs PSG friendly match

Paris Saint-Germain (PSG) has announced that they will be...

Tension between BCCI and Star Sports regarding South Africa series, know what is the whole matter

An emergency meeting of the BCCI was held on...