Temba Bavuma is back as the captain of South Africa for the T20 World Cup


Temba Bavuma, the captain of South Africa, has overcome his injury and will lead the side at the Twenty20 World Cup in Australia later this year.

On Tuesday, Cricket South Africa announced the 15-player team and three travelling reserves for the event in October and November. He has fully recovered from a left elbow injury sustained in the T20 series against India in June, the organisation said.

During last week’s second test against England, Rassie van der Dussen broke his left index finger and needed surgery to fix it. Despite an impressive performance in the recent T20 series against England, 22-year-old Tristan Stubbs has not been chosen, while Dewald Brevis is not included, despite signing for this year’s IPL but having yet to play for the national team.

Read More: Shardul Thakur Replaces Prasidh Krishna Against New Zealand A

“It has been quite difficult to select this squad, simply due to the number of players that have been in superb form recently and whose performances have caught the eyes of the Selectors,” said Victor Mpitsang, convenor of the selectors.

“Tristan Stubbs, who wasn’t considered a year ago, has proved incredibly resilient based on his performance to force his way into consideration. His selection should be an inspiration to every young player out there.”

South Africa will face India soon

Later this month, South Africa will play an exhibition T20 series against India. This will be followed by an early-October series of three One Day International matches, for which a squad was also chosen on Tuesday.

ODI squad vs India: Bavuma (captain), De Kock, Hendricks, Klaasen, Maharaj, Janneman Malan, Markram, Miller, Ngidi, Nortje, Parnell, Phehlukwayo, Pretorius, Rabada, Shamsi.

South Africa T20 World Cup squad

Temba Bavuma (captain), Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs

Travelling reserves: Bjorn Fortuin, Marco Jansen, Andile Phehlukwayo

Read moreSuresh Raina Announces Retirement from Cricket


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

French Football Federation President Resigns Amid Controversy Surrounding Comments on Zidane

Noël Le Graët has resigned from his position as...

Gareth Bale Announces his Retirement from Club and International Football

On 9 January 2023, Wales soccer legend Gareth Bale...

Ronaldo clashes with Messi in Al-Nassr vs PSG friendly match

Paris Saint-Germain (PSG) has announced that they will be...

Tension between BCCI and Star Sports regarding South Africa series, know what is the whole matter

An emergency meeting of the BCCI was held on...