Most successful teams in Asia Cup history


List of past winners of the Asia Cup of Cricket, its history, format, most successful teams, and victories

Twenty20 International cricket matches will be played during the 15th Asia Cup competition, which will be held in the UAE in August and September of 2022. (T20Is). Pakistan was slated to host the competition after obtaining the right to host the 2022 edition. But the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) announced in October 2021 that Sri Lanka will host the event in 2022, while Pakistan would host the 2023 edition. However, due to the political upheaval in Sri Lanka, it was relocated to the UAE. India won the 2018 edition of the competition to become the current champion of the Asia Cup.

Read more: List of youngest players to have played the Asia Cup

History, rosters, format, and other information about the Asia Cup

The Asian Cricket Council Asia Cup is an international Twenty20 and one-day cricket tournament for men. It was founded at the same time as the Asian Cricket Council, which was introduced in 1983 as a tool to promote goodwill among Asian countries. It was initially intended to take place every two years. The winning team is proclaimed Asia’s champions in the only cricket continental competition, the Asia Cup. Every two years, the ODI and T20 formats are discontinued.

The offices of the council were situated in Sharjah, United Arab Emirates, the site of the first Asia Cup in 1984. India chose not to participate in the 1986 competition due to its hostile cricketing relations with Sri Lanka. Pakistan boycotted the 1990–1991 tournament because of tense political relations with India, and the 1993 event was canceled for the same reason. The ACC decided that the tournament would occur every two years starting in 2009. The ICC has designated every Asia Cup encounter as an official ODI.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced that beginning in 2016, Asia Cup matches would alternate between One Day International and Twenty20 International formats in accordance with the format of upcoming international competitions after the Asian Cricket Council’s membership was reduced in 2015. As a result, the 2016 event, which was the first to be contested in the T20I format, functioned as a warm-up event for the 2016 ICC World Twenty20.

Read more: Highest runs in the history of the Asia Cup

Asian Cup history’s champions

With seven championships, India is the most successful team in the competition (six ODI and one T20). Sri Lanka is the second-most successful team with five triumphs, after Pakistan’s five championships. Sri Lanka has played in 14 Asia Cups, compared to 13 each for India, Pakistan, and Bangladesh.

YearFormatHost NationNumber of teamsFinal VenueWinnerRunner-up
1984ODIUnited Arab Emirates3Sharjah CA StadiumIndiaSri Lanka
1986ODISri Lanka3Sinhalese Sports Club GroundSri LankaPakistan
1988ODIBangladesh4Bangabandhu National StadiumIndiaSri Lanka
1990/91ODIIndia3Eden GardensIndiaSri Lanka
1995ODIUnited Arab Emirates4Sharjah CA StadiumIndiaSri Lanka
1997ODISri Lanka4R. Premadasa StadiumSri LankaIndia
2000ODIBangladesh4Bangabandhu National StadiumPakistanSri Lanka
2004ODISri Lanka6R. Premadasa StadiumSri LankaIndia
2008ODIPakistan6National StadiumSri LankaIndia
2010ODISri Lanka4Rangiri Dambulla International StadiumIndiaSri Lanka
2012ODIBangladesh4Sher-e-Bangla National StadiumPakistanBangladesh
2014ODIBangladesh5Sher-e-Bangla National StadiumSri LankaPakistan
2016T20IBangladesh5Sher-e-Bangla National StadiumIndiaBangladesh
2018ODIUnited Arab Emirates6Dubai International Cricket StadiumIndiaBangladesh

Most successful teams in Asia Cup history FAQs

  1. What nation has the most Asia Cup victories?

Team India now holds the record for the most Asia Cup titles won with 7 victories, while Sri Lanka is in second place with 5 victories.

  1. Who is the Asia Cup’s reigning champion?


  1. Which team, after Sri Lanka and India, is the third to win the Asia Cup?

Having two titles, Pakistan.

Read more: Lowest scores in Asia Cup history


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

French Football Federation President Resigns Amid Controversy Surrounding Comments on Zidane

Noël Le Graët has resigned from his position as...

Gareth Bale Announces his Retirement from Club and International Football

On 9 January 2023, Wales soccer legend Gareth Bale...

Ronaldo clashes with Messi in Al-Nassr vs PSG friendly match

Paris Saint-Germain (PSG) has announced that they will be...

Tension between BCCI and Star Sports regarding South Africa series, know what is the whole matter

An emergency meeting of the BCCI was held on...