Ireland announces 15-member squad for T20 World Cup 2022


The 15-person team that will travel to Australia for the T20 World Cup in October-November was revealed by Cricket Ireland on Tuesday. Batsman Andrew Balbirnie will serve as the team’s captain, with starter Paul Stirling serving as his deputy. The 15-member team also includes players like Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, and Simi Singh in addition to these two athletes.

Only Scotland has yet to choose its best team for the competition, making the Irish team the fifteenth nation to do so. Kevin O’Brien, who last month announced his retirement from all forms of international cricket, will be missed in Ireland. This will be Heinrich Malan’s first significant competition as head coach.

Ireland will fly to Australia on September 29, 2022, and play warm-up matches against Sri Lanka and Namibia before beginning their round-one campaign. Along with Scotland, the West Indies, and Zimbabwe, Ireland is in Group B. On October 17, they will face Zimbabwe in their opening game.

A new era for Ireland

“Irish cricket is in a thrilling period as we prepare for yet another important international competition. We have been developing a strong core squad over the past year while adding more depth to our T20 cricket. With the series victory against Afghanistan, I believe fans have started to notice the players’ improvements in T20Is, and we aim to continue this trend into the tournament in Australia “The National Men’s Selectors’ Chair, Andrew White, said.

He continued by saying that this World T20 is only the start of a new era rather than its conclusion. “We think that this T20 World Cup in Australia is the start of a new era rather than its conclusion. Our future prospects are really exciting due to the age profile of our team, and following a season of impressive performances, we have noticed a higher degree of interest in our players from teams in franchise competitions around the world, which is a good sign”.

Additionally, Andrew White shed some light on the difficult decisions the selectors had to make about some players. In contrast to Simi Singh and Andy McBrine, he claimed that George Dockrell and Gareth Delany had been beneficial to the team this summer. 

Ireland’s squad for T20 World Cup 2022

  • Andrew Balbirnie (C)
  • Mark Adair
  • Curtis Campher
  • Gareth Delany
  • George Dockrell
  • Stephen Doheny
  • Fionn Hand
  • Josh Little
  • Barry McCarthy
  • Conor Olphert
  • Simi Singh
  • Paul Stirling
  • Harry Tector
  • Lorcan Tucker
  • Craig Young

Read more5 Bowlers Who Are Performing Great in CPL 2022


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

French Football Federation President Resigns Amid Controversy Surrounding Comments on Zidane

Noël Le Graët has resigned from his position as...

Gareth Bale Announces his Retirement from Club and International Football

On 9 January 2023, Wales soccer legend Gareth Bale...

Ronaldo clashes with Messi in Al-Nassr vs PSG friendly match

Paris Saint-Germain (PSG) has announced that they will be...

Tension between BCCI and Star Sports regarding South Africa series, know what is the whole matter

An emergency meeting of the BCCI was held on...