ICC T20 World Cup Details You Should Know


The ICC Men’s T20 world cup is going to be held in Australia and it’s scheduled to play between the 16th of October to 13th November. The last match of the tournament is on Sunday 13th November at Melbourne Cricket Ground. 

There are total of 16 participants and between them, 45 matches are going to be played. Matches will be played at Perth (Perth Stadium), Hobart (Bellerive Oval), Geelong (Kardinia Park Stadium), Melbourne (MCG), Sydney (SCG), Brisbane (The Gabba), and Adelaide (Adelaide Oval). Australia will host the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup for the first time after the record-breaking women’s tournament that took place between February and March 2020.

Eight teams have already qualified for the Super 12 round the remaining eight teams must compete in qualifying rounds. Out of the eight teams, four will qualify for the Super 12 rounds.

The teams that are qualified for the Super 12 are as follows

  • India 
  • Pakistan 
  • Australia 
  • England 
  • Australia 
  • Afghanistan 
  • South Africa 
  • Bangladesh

The remaining eight teams that are not qualified are as follows:

  • UAE
  • Ireland 
  • Sri Lanka
  • West Indies
  • Zimbabwe 
  • Namibia
  • Scotland 
  • Netherlands 

These eight teams are separated into two groups, A and B. The top two teams will qualify for the Super 12 from both groups. Group A teams (Namibia, Netherlands, Sri Lanka, United Arab Emirates) and Group B teams (Ireland, Scotland, West Indies, Zimbabwe).

The West Indies and the Sri Lankan Cricket team have the experience of playing in the major tournament So they should not have too much of a problem in these qualifying rounds to qualify for Super 12.

The other teams from the Super 12 are also distributed into two groups. Groups A (Afghanistan, Australia, England, New Zealand, A1,B2) and Group B (India, Pakistan, South Africa, Bangladesh, B1,A2). Given that Group A is strong, the Indian cricket team has the best chance of winning the group. Since all of the teams in Group A are very strong, it will be more challenging than in Group B. 

The Indian team will have the advantage from the Australian grounds because they have played a lot of matches in Australia. The Indian players are familiar with the weather and pitch of Australia. It should be a hell of a tournament this year because all the teams have come prepared for the T20 world cup. It should be interesting to see who will be the next T20 champion. 

Read more: Can Rohit Sharma bat at number 3?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

French Football Federation President Resigns Amid Controversy Surrounding Comments on Zidane

Noël Le Graët has resigned from his position as...

Gareth Bale Announces his Retirement from Club and International Football

On 9 January 2023, Wales soccer legend Gareth Bale...

Ronaldo clashes with Messi in Al-Nassr vs PSG friendly match

Paris Saint-Germain (PSG) has announced that they will be...

Tension between BCCI and Star Sports regarding South Africa series, know what is the whole matter

An emergency meeting of the BCCI was held on...