T20 World Cup 2022: Team India Under Tension as Rohit Sharma Gets Injured


The ICC men’s T20 World Cup 2022 semifinal matchup between Team India and England is scheduled for Thursday at the Adelaide Oval, and only a few days prior, Team India experienced a significant scare.  

After landing in Adelaide from Melbourne on Tuesday, November 8, captain Rohit Sharma suffered a hard hit to his forearm while practicing in the nets. In the nets, Rohit was engaging in throwdowns when his right forearm took a hard blow. The Indian captain left the nets as the physio hurried onto the field to check on him.

Rohit Returned Back

After being hit on his right hand during a practise session before to the semi-final match against England, Indian skipper Rohit Sharma returned to the batting nets in Adelaide for some more batting drills.

In the current T20 World Cup 2022, Rohit hasn’t been in the best of form, hitting only 89 runs overall with a maximum score of 53 against the Netherlands. Virat Kohli, a former captain of India, has scored the most runs for his country in the competition (246 from 5 games), but Suryakumar Yadav has been outstanding, hitting 225 runs with a strike rate of 193.96.

Match official appointments for semi-finals

The semi-final match officials for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022, which is now in progress, were released by the International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday, November 7. On Wednesday, November 9, at the Sydney Cricket Ground in Sydney, the first semi-final between New Zealand and Pakistan will be played. On Thursday, November 10, at the Adelaide Oval in Adelaide, the second semi-final between India and England will be played.

The officials are as follows:

November 9 – New Zealand v Pakistan (19h00 AEDT), Sydney Cricket Ground – Marais Erasmus and Richard Illingworth (on-field), Richard Kettleborough (third umpire), Michael Gough (fourth umpire) and Chris Broad (match referee).

10 November – India v England (18h30 ACDT), Adelaide Oval – Kumar Dharmasena and Paul Reiffel (on-field), Chris Gaffaney (third umpire), Rod Tucker (fourth umpire), and David Boon (match referee).

Read more: Virat Kohli Becomes Highest Run Scorer in T20 World Cup History


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:



More like this

French Football Federation President Resigns Amid Controversy Surrounding Comments on Zidane

Noël Le Graët has resigned from his position as...

Gareth Bale Announces his Retirement from Club and International Football

On 9 January 2023, Wales soccer legend Gareth Bale...

Ronaldo clashes with Messi in Al-Nassr vs PSG friendly match

Paris Saint-Germain (PSG) has announced that they will be...

Tension between BCCI and Star Sports regarding South Africa series, know what is the whole matter

An emergency meeting of the BCCI was held on...